Daughter of Smoke and Bone review

http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/8490112-daughter-of-smoke-bone

I was blown away by this book.  The poetic phrases, the subtle philosophy, prejudices, romance, rebirth/reincarnation and past lives, angels, conflict, war and…Prague, beautiful, wonderous, romantic Prague.
It is different to other paranormal books yet the same in many ways.  The difference is in the writing and the identity of the characters, the seemingly unpainted effusiveness of their flaws and ‘otherness’.  The main character is witty and friendly and talented and self-possessed yet retains all the cheeky selfishness of a teenager – desperate for knowledge, desperate for love and family and normality, desperate to fit into a world she doesn’t understand and that cannot understand her.
The hero – ah, what can we say except he is beautiful.  Not just in looks but beautifully angry and beautifully obsessed with ‘the one’.
When he first sees her he tries to kill her, despite the way she makes his blood rush and don’t we just love that?  The guilt from this one act is sweet and colours everything he feels.
Oh, read it and fall in love with the author – with the way she can overwhelm you with prose.  Rediscover that heady feeling of euphoria great phrases instil.
Thank you Ms Taylor.  You made my evening.
<br/><br/>
<a href=”http://www.goodreads.com/review/list/6404424-bea-turvey”>View all my reviews</a>

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

