Solitary Confinement

Solitary confinement was invented many years ago as a tool for reform but instead drove the prisoner mad.  How then do hermits survive?  Is it the lack of policing, the authoritative body?  Is it the conscious decision, the lifestyle choice that makes the difference?  What of the physical environment?  Or the freedom to roam?  Is it all or none of these?

As a society we are creating situations where more and more people are being pushed, involuntarily, into a state of solitary confinement.  Families are disjointed and dispersed; neighbours no longer speak with each other; it is frowned upon to make conversation with a stranger; at work you are either popular or ignored.  Even in the checkout line at the supermarket, with self-scanning technology the opportunity for human interaction is removed until a person can find themselves isolated. 

Isolate.  Solitary.  Solitude.  Dissolute.

Negative emotions breed indiscriminately.  Small hiccups attain the majestic proportions of disasters.  The lethal cocktail of escalating anger, loneliness and depression culminate in a violent act which is either directed inwards in an attempt to end the suffering, or outwards, towards the populace that refuses to understand and is blinkered to the pain.

Naive?  Maybe.  Simplistic?  Perhaps.  I do know my family and friends keep me sane.  I hope I do the same for them.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.