The case of the missing chocolate cake

Last week I helped my daughter bake 4 spectacular chocolate cakes for an enterprise project at school.  I was only able to transport 3 of them so the fourth was left at home.  Unbelievably, it has gone missing.  I kid you not, the cake has ceased to be.  We definitely baked 4 – at least, we had 4 cake tins that needed washing, 4 cakes were decorated and 4 plates were dirtied.  I have no photographic evidence, but my children and husband will all vouch for the existence of the fourth cake.  The dog, however, is uncommonly quiet on the subject.

Today we had the Twilight/New Moon showing – referred to as the ‘Eclipse Ball’ – at school.  It was fancy dress and I went as Emily (Sam’s girlfriend).  I mixed some old foundation (pre-summer so it was far too pale) with PVA glue and smeared it down the side of my face before scratching three long fingernail marks down it.  Despite being the wrong colour it was fantastic.  I had considered using latex but, apart from the awful smell, it is extremely sticky and will rip off the top layer of your skin if you’re not careful.  Perhaps next time I’ll try mixing the two.

My daughter went as Alice Cullen; I gave her a pixie cut on Sunday evening and she was quite convincing if you were to look at her with a squint.  My son went as Jacob Black; shorn hair, tattoo on his upper arm, cut-off jeans and  (you are not going to believe this) I painted abs onto his stomach!  He looked so cool, except he refused to remove his t-shirt!  My sister-in-law was a vampire in a sapphire ball gown with the most beautiful shoes and amber contacts.  She was stunning. 

We are going to see Eclipse on Saturday morning – I can’t wait!!!!!

My daughter had to leave after Twilight as she was starring in a school production of Pinafore Pirates.  She wowed them all, of course.  They’re both in bed now, as good children ought to be.

As shall I – soon…

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Twilight, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The case of the missing chocolate cake

  1. lindaturvey says:

    Thank you for the “stunning” comment. I don’t usually get called that! So the cost of getting optically corrected honey coloured contacts, and dressing up in a ball gown and tiara was worth it. I might start dressing like this for work if that is the effect!!
    I thoroughly enjoyed watching both films again, just before I go to see the new one on Sunday, with my teenage son in tow. Thanks for a nice afternoon.
    Love from Bea Turvey’s sister-in-law!!!

Please Leave a Reply

