Wonderful Words

Quite possibly the nicest thing my son has ever said to me is ‘Mummy, you make my heart smile.’  He was five at the time.  I was so touched I wanted to cry.  Of course, I then had to tell everyone I met that day and if they weren’t as heart-clutchingly swept away as I then that was because they were soulless.  Couldn’t they see what a sensitive little person he was, what a devastatingly eloquent soul he would grow up to be?

He is nowhere near as empathetic as I’d imagined.  Sure, he won’t watch Titanic because it makes him cry, and reading Shadow and War Horse sent him hurtling into my lap for a weepy cuddle, but if I fall on my arse he wavers between concern and laughter and usually falls on the side of laughter, getting impatient if I don’t recover from my ‘owee’ really quickly.  Perhaps it’s because he’s a boy.  My daughter on the other hand was born with a wonderful bedside manner.  In fact, her burning ambition is no longer to be a equine veterinarian, but a counsellor, sorting out other people’s problems for them.  I have no idea how she’ll cope as she has no idea how to distance herself from people’s problems…maybe that’s a girl thing.  She dives headfirst into every relationship, smothering herself emotionally.

My daughter has now stepped into that emotional quagmire called  the teens, while my son is due to start secondary (High) school in September.  With all the problems associated with growing up I decided to attend the ‘Surviving Adolescence’ course run by the school.  It is fantastic.  The biggest lessons learnt, far and away, was from listening to the experiences and trials other parents had been through followed by the course leaders perspective.  However, there was one shining star among all the suggestions and it was brought up by a parent:

 
Read it, try it and tell me how it went.  So simple, so effective.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author. Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.