Entwined With You Review

Entwined With You:  Crossfire #3

Entwined With You:
Crossfire #3

5 out of 5 stars If you are a Crossfire fan please read the book before reading this review. Contains Spoilers!!!!!  You have been warned. Yes!  I was all twisted waiting for another dose of Gideon & Eva (would they be Eveon or Gideva in celeb circles?).  I read the teaser sample posted before the publishing date and it merely served to whet my appetite further.  I gasped with pleasure when it popped onto my screen and immediately got stuck in. I have given it 5/5 because it is so bloody brilliant in all obsessive things G&E but I also have a moan.  A major one. Sell-out! The original concept of Crossfire was as a trilogy and this has been bumped up to five books.  Now, I do not wish to cast false allegations but I personally believe the publishers have been salivating at the idea of more books=more money and as BTY and RIY were such great money-spinners why not ride the gravy train a little longer.  It is not in the style of Eragon’s final book split (that completely made sense to me and was beautifully handled).  Normally the idea of more Gideon and Eva would not be something I’d ever moan about.  Instead I’d be whoop-de-whooping and eagerly scouring the interweb for any snippets of info on release dates and teasers.  Not this time and I shall tell you why.Ready?I think the original plot is still visible as a golden thread that has been unteased into several strands and wound round a thick bundle of ‘what about’ and ‘have you considered’ and…you get the idea.  Picture it: the publishing team sat Ms Day in a velvet room and tried to sell her on the idea of the Crossfire series.  When she politely told them where they could stuff it they charmed and smarmed and proffered little canapes and flutes of champagne and wheeled in their arsenal of ideas.  Ideas that she could easily write in to help extend the plot and turn the trilogy into a series.  Then, and this is the killer, they displayed the virtual truckload of ‘More, please’ emails and requests and said, ‘how could you possibly disappoint all these fans?’  Okay, I’m making the publishers our to be mercenary bastards – perhaps they are and perhaps they aren’t, but this is what I felt, because:First – additional characters.  Yep, you heard me.  Mr Giroux and Deanna.  Let’s focus on Deanna.  Why does she exist in the book at all?  What possible reason could she have to turn up?  It is just a little too much like a sidecar – easily removable and will make a huge difference to the journey.  In several instances I thought, ‘er, okay, but what’s the point?’  I offer two examples out of the many; the ‘buy her a glass of wine’ scenario and the bit where she is sitting in Eva’s seat at the charity do.Next – that isosceles triangle rearing up from her BFF, Cary, with his two lovers Tatiana and Trey.  That triangle has developed a seriously cumbersome ‘bump’ at one corner. Again – why?  It is quite possible this was always going to be on the cards and Cary would have ended up resolving the issue in one form or another.  However it is just a little too clunky.  Very unCrossfire.Next, Brett.  Lovely, self-obsessed Brett.  That little nail should have been well and truly hammered in halfway through the book yet he still protrudes like a well-placed nail just waiting to snag your tights.  What’s with the coincidental trip to SoCal ?  He doesn’t call her/keep in touch yet tells her he can’t wait to feel her round him again.  She says she just wants to be friends, and ensures that they have dinner in one of Gideon’s restaurants so he can’t try anything on…then invites him into her flat for a coffee and says, ‘are you going?’  What’s with the smiley text she just sends on a whim?  Nope, not working for me.The sex video – just slotted in there at the end and primed us for revelations in book 4.  Got to keep that gravy train fuelled.The Mob?  Gangsterville?  Okay, I bought that, totally, especially with the bracelet, but that one tiny, little sentence brought the whole thing storming back into paddedville – who is protecting him?Anne (green dress, red hair a the charity function) getting it on with Cary – yep, that was totally going to be in the book because it sets up for the all illusive who, what and why of Gideon’s abuse that Eva is going to crack and ‘save him’ as he saved/protected her.The way she keeps things from Cary – don’t get it.  Angus knows everything and Cary is her Angus.  She would have told him.  If not about Gideon being her secret romance then at least about the wedding.  She would!  Yet, it is being strung out and the reason – her insecurity.  That just doesn’t gel with me.  Her seesaw of I trust him implicitly and want to spend the rest of my life with him vs trust issues, jealousy and marriage is too big a step.  Please.  I wanted to smack her upside the head. Monsieur Giroux, Corinne and le bebe.  I’m rolling my eyes because that is just so obviously a fill-in.  Corinne should have been kicked to the kerb within the first three chapters.  Magdalene, on the other hand….There’s more but I shan’t bore you with minor annoyances.  I hope you can see why my jaw dropped when I got to the end of EWY.  50% intoxicated on G&E and 50% fuming and feeling like a shmuck.  It really did feel like one of those holidays you’ve been told you’ve won…except you have to pay for your flight back…and meals…and there’s a service charge…pool use not included….  Hmm, I do sound a little bitter, don’t I?  My apologies. If you’re a Crossfire fan then you will get lots of yummy G&E.  I did.  Will I continue flying the Crossfire flag?  You bet.  Only it won’t be flown quite as high or as vigorously.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Entwined With You Review

  1. Becky says:

    The latest instalment in this shoddy was-obvs-meant-to-be-a-trilogy “series” has just found its way into my Kindle. Because I had it on pre-order. Which means I paid for it (like a total twat) knowing full well that I’m quite likely to be disappointed because I’m way past optimal climax point. It’s like my boyfriend decided to play around with delayed gratification, totally missed the point and I’m left with a hasty boon squeeze 4 days later. I found this blog whilst looking for an EWY recap. Thanks for the honesty. You were completely on the money. I’ll let you know how I get on with book 4 x

  2. kim says:

    one of the best I have read since fifty shades although it had times when I could of smack eva the story line were intense at times looking forward to see how the story ends

    • Sorry it took so long to reply…I’m sadly beginning to feel we’re in the minority on this one. A friend even said, ‘stop whining. At least, this way we gets loads more G&E.’ I’m slowly being pulled into the glass half-full camp if only because I’m fed up of arguing my case.
      Just reread Release Me and Claim me in time for Complete Me which is due out next week. If it’s another roll over in the style of Sylvia Day I shall break something.

Please Leave a Reply

