Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Embrace Review

Leave a comment

4 out of 5

Embrace, Entice, Emblaze and Endless by Jessica Shirvington

This is my new fave author of the year.  The series is wonderful and my replacement for City of Bones (Cassandra Clare) and once again features angels.  So why didn’t I give it 5 stars?  Because the book dedicated so much space to back-fill.  Okay, before you all start having a go and saying I was being too picky I do understand that as Violet was completely unaware of the whole idea of other realms, angels, etc we needed someone to explain what the hell (no pun intended) was going on, and I admit I appreciated that the information was released in short sections.  But I was more interested in the story and I wish Jessica had found a way to cut down on the explanations.  However, this is only true for this one book.  The other books in the series do reveal further details but in a less verbose manner that is far easier to swallow.
The characters are wonderfully described in temperament and physical characteristics with lots of show not tell scenarios.  All of them beautifully flawed jewels.
There is a love triangle – my current pet hate – but it is not of Clockwork Princess proportions and you really feel for Lincoln, Violet and Phoenix.  I’m getting ahead of myself but you will want to fall straight into the next book.
Jessica – thank you for this series.  It is lip-smackingly yummy.

Also, please write faster!

http://www.goodreads.com/review/show/593285868

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

