Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Natural Born Angel Review

Leave a comment

3 out of 5 stars

I was wavering between 3 and four stars but went for 3 in the end because while it is written well I was left feeling decidedly unentertained.

*******************SPOILER ALERT*****************

I was disappointed because: a) (yes, there’s a list!) Where’s the love?  That wonderful romance and the connection between Jacks and Maddy that kept me glued to Immortal City?

b) Jacks was seriously getting on my nerves – happy and excited and then slowly deflating because Maddy is consumed by trying to do WHAT HE WANTED!  She’s in a  difficult situation, working with people who are really shitty and, with the exception of Susan, trainers who have already written her off before she’s even started.  He told her to get on board with the angel lifestyle…and then moans because she isn’t spending enough time on him.  Grrr.  She told him she was conflicted, didn’t like Protection for Pay and slowly but surely he tries to make out she’s being naive in wanting it to change – when he promised to help her bring about the change!  Also, it’s not that’s asking her to give up all things human more that he’s asking her to become anti-human – grow up and use your brain!  Then, she does an unprotected save, something she always said was her goal and is clearly upset because she may get her wings taken away (and he knows exactly how that feels) but does he come in and cuddle her?  Give her support?  Some understanding?  No – he hollers ‘Do you know what you’ve done?’  No, you jerk, she wasn’t thinking of the moronic idiots who are supposed to be running the show and acting like children fighting over a toy, she was doing what she promised to do – keep humans safe!  Also, if you keep telling her ‘nothing is wrong’ then how the hell is she supposed to know something is wrong?  She can sense something’s bothering you and is willing to let you tell her in your own time…don’t then tell her she wasn’t paying you enough attention!  Yes, I wasn’t best pleased with Jacks and damn, but I wanted him to be more mature than he’d been in book 1.  I mean, he got the girl.  He gets to be with her but as soon as she isn’t paying him enough attention, doing what he wants, or the situation isn’t about him and the way he feels he’s miserable.

c) And the biggest disappointment – a love triangle!  I kid you not.  As if there weren’t conflicts aplenty we were sold out to that flogging-a-dead-horse cliché.  Please, give the sodding love triangle a rest already.  You left me disliking Jacks at the end of the books do you seriously want me to hate Maddy, too?  Tom is nice enough but I wasn’t getting the same connection as I had between Maddy and Jacks in Immortal City.  Don’t do it Maddy.  You’re just feeling a little lost and he’s a human connection, someone who tells you he understands while Jacks is acting like a brat but he doesn’t understand you at all.  He is anti-angel and wants you to denounce a side of yourself you’ve only just discovered.  When Jacks gets his head out of his arse he’ll realise how pathetic he’s being.  Please, just wait – give him a slap to wake him up but wait for him.

What did I enjoy?  The few occasions we were offered to see Jacks and Maddy interact but they were oh, so lame.  Maddy’s evolution into an angel (I would have liked to see her kick Emily’s butt training-wise!).  The internal human-angel conflict Maddy goes through and her determination.  Hmmm, it’s not much when I add it up.

So, I shall read the last book in the trilogy, but without the eager anticipation I had for this one.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

