Skin Deep by Laura Jarratt Review

Drugs and sex (non-explicit) so I would recommend for 14+ readers if you’re sensitive!  Although, if you are a level-headed 11 year-old it is worth picking up as it highlights the dangers of drugs. Be aware,  the hero is 16 and indulges in ‘hook-ups’ and drinks alcohol.

The storyline is basically what it says on the blurb, but there are several deeper issues involved, namely prejudice against travellers; underage drinking; challenging behaviour and pushing boundaries; living with someone who has bipolar disorder.

The story is lazily sweet.  The hero is what everyone wants – good, hardworking, level-headed, non-judgmental, caring…Prince Charming without the princely title or lifestyle. But he’s lost and lonely and needs someone to rely on because his Mum certainly fails in that department.
Jenna was fairly shallow before the accident and since then has been mentally tied in knots over her disfigurement, unable to allow people to see beyond the scars because she would never have been able to.  Cole helps her to cope and get back into society.  He is her knight in shining armour.  She, in her turn, is his steady rock.

A thoroughly lovely apples and cream, curl up and keep you warm book.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

