The Girl (Guardians #1) Review

4 of 5 stars false

Let me just start by saying, and this may seem weird considering I gave it 4 stars, I wish I hadn’t read this book.  It has left me feeling extremely uncomfortable.  The book is about the age-old war between heaven and hell (although the author has renamed all the main characters and places and ideas). 

I object to the morals in this book.

************SPOILER ALERT****************
The heroine, Emmie, is the current clue to finding ‘the bridge’ which will be the key in enabling the devil to overthrow the human race.  Yes, it is that big of a deal. 
Six guardians (angels) are sent to destroy secret that locates the bridge, so they are keen on getting to Emmie first; they succeed.
The First Guardian (Marcus) and Emmie fall in love…unfortunately.  I say unfortunately because he has already promised himself and married – in angel terms – another guardian.  Because he is a man of his word he remains true to his mate and tells Emmie they cannot be together.
Now, this is where I have a real problem because this puts the star-crossed romance into the realms of pure and simple adultery.  The circumstances of their quest mean Emmie and Marcus continue to cross each other’s paths and, as this is a war of sorts, they are forever consoling/comforting each other.  The book is split into three parts; the second part retells the same story from the first part but from Marcus’ POV – I don’t understand why as all it did was confuse me even more.  He loves Ameana (his mate) and we are treated to a lovely romantic interlude in Dubai.  Apparently he finds it relatively easy to forget Emmie and get it on with Ameana. But then, at the very end of the second section, he reveals he’s been stalking her.  WTH?  It sure didn’t feel like that throughout his POV.  I was seriously p’ed off. 
Emmie – I could not relate to her at all.  She was a spoilt brat who refused to stay away from Marcus.  I accept that she thought they were just boyfriend/girlfriend and those sorts of relationships are transient; no-one bothered to tell her how serious the commitment was, but even so…in fact, when she first kisses Marcus she is in an ague of guilt and confesses to Ameana, asking her for forgiveness.  She even rushes after them to ensure they do not break up over it!  Yet, she continues to hound Marcus for attention!  Aaagh!  Also, she blindly walks into their battles, insisting she wants to help, informing them she is no coward, but she has no weapons or defences.  This, of course, puts them in danger and results in the death of one of the Guardians, but does she feel any remorse for her action?  The teeniest bit guilty?  No – and not one of the other Guardians pulls her up on it either!  The girl drove me mad.  She is unbelievably frustrating.
I was really proud of Ameana – her comeback when Emmie confessed to the kiss, her control when she told Emmie where to get off (third part of the book), even her reaction when Emmie disrespectfully asks Marcus for a date in front of her (yes, you heard right) having first cited that she wanted to be upfront and honest (how could that possibly  justify doing the wrong thing?) was fully in keeping with her character and what any normal woman have done.  Sod the fact that she’s a Guardian, this was not Guardian stuff, this was relationship stuff; the girl walks into her house (her house) and asks her man out?  Tell me what you would do.  Then Marcus has the gall to remove her powers from a Guardian perspective? 
And Marcus – oh, please!  All the lovey dovey stuff with Ameana and then, he tells Emmie he loves her.  He justifies this because (get this) they just cannot waste any more days having her being sad except they spend the next few days playing ball!  Get her to open up and talk to someone you moron!  This is after he has just really enjoyed the fact that Ameana is finally opening up to him – and then he does that to her?  THIS – IS – WHY she had trouble opening up!  Trust, Marcus.  And you blew it big time!
So, that is why I removed one star because that ugly aspect of it made me feel nauseous.  In fact, I’m not going to read the rest of the series for a little while.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

