Bea’s Basin

I have a favourite cooking knife.  Seriously, I am one of those women who comes into your kitchen, offers to help and then moans incessantly about how rubbish your knives are before you lose all patience, stuff a bowl of crisps and chardonnay into my hands and direct me to the dark corner of the room to play with the cat.

I can’t stand crappy knives.  As much as I hate cooking there is one thing I know and that is a kitchen needs sharp knives designed for the job.  I’m pretty anal about it.  Ask my husband.  Not only do I tut when he uses the wrong knife to slice the bread but I follow him, remove the offending knife and replace it with the correct one.  He is the one tutting then at my inability to relax over a cutting implement.

But men are the same when it comes to DIY.  I can use a flat head screwdriver for a philips (posi) head screw – I can! – and it works.  To them it is inconceivable that someone would use the wrong screwdriver.  My husband is constantly telling me that a drill bit is designed either for wood or metal and the two are not interchangeable.  Well, why can’t he understand the same goes for a knife?  A bread knife is different to a carving knife is different to a… actually I’m boring myself now. So we shall move on.

The one thing I am not fussy about is bowls.  Usually.  I can’t mix dough in a pan, it has to have a round base so you don’t lose bits at the edge.  That’s just common sense.  But – you knew there was one coming – a salad bowl is NOT a mixing bowl and my mixing bowl is only a salad bowl in the event of an emergency!

There, I think I’ve exhausted kitchen utensils.  Now I’ll just wait for my husband to complain that a face razor can’t be used on…

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

