Brass Monkeys, White Elephants and the Rest of the Zoo

It was so cold yesterday that it would freeze the balls off a brass monkey.  That was what I muttered under my breath when we stamped into the house but my son, with his extra acute, yet selective, hearing caught every word.  Sigh.  I therefore had to explain I was not referring to a practice carried out by anyone in particular in this or any other country, and tried to impart the salutary lesson of not taking everything literally.  Of course, he persisted in knowing more about the monkey, in particular the reference to the said monkey’s appendages.  I therefore an abridged explanation of the various considered opinions behind the expression.  He stopped me once again.  I was obviously missing his point which he proceeded to explain in a much aggrieved tone.  Is there a real ‘live’ brass monkey (like a robot) and, most importantly, is there a monkey with brass balls, and is he in any danger of having his own freeze off? My quick three-line explanation slipped quietly out of the door and dinner was put on hold.

Why, when I make a simple throwaway comment, does he extract every nuance yet when we sit down to discuss a school project it is as much as he can do to nod?

I shall, of course, henceforth keep all the zoological based colloquialisms within my repertoire to a minimum.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

