Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Battle of the Bean

1 Comment

I have been a Heinz Baked Bean fan ever since I can remember to the point where I would refuse the option if it was anything other than Heinz.  About two years ago my mother-in-law changed to Branston beans.  I smiled, shrugged my shoulders, thought each to their own and placed her order without a qualm. 

Every now and then she would ask me if I had tried them.  I’d wrinkle my nose and say I wasn’t really interested.  Then, her neighbour got in on the act and said, ‘try them; just once.  I bet you like them more than Heinz.’  It was all I could do not to scoff.  So I smiled and said okay.

I did as I said I would, I picked up a small tin of Branston baked beans at the local Co-Op.  It felt wrong, like buying a different toothpaste or going to a different hairdressers, as though I were pretending to be someone else.  Nonetheless I bought it.  I took it home and suffered my husband’s scathing comments (silently agreeing with him).  It took me more than a week to finally relent and opened the damned tin.  The rest of the family had regular Heinz. 

I was surprised as soon as I saw the contents: they were redder, more tomatoey and the sauce was thicker, also the beans weren’t as pallid as the Heinz variety.  Now, as I said, the rest of the family had Heinz so I was able to compare the two side-by-side and guess what?  Had you offered me a taste test and put them in front of me I would have pointed to the Branston ones and said Heinz, definitely.  The taste was what I remember Heinz as being only somehow, over the years, it has become diluted to the point where they are now one step away from a cheap brand.  I wasn’t the only one – my husband and children all tried them and noticed the same thing as I.  What happened and why didn’t I notice?  My loyalty has shifted.  I’m a Branstonite now.  Sorry Heinz, you’ve lost me and it most definitely is your fault. 

BTW, in case you are wondering, I have absolutely nothing to do with either the Heinz or Branston compaies.  One thing this exercise has done is opened my idea to different options.  Next shopping trip I’m going to try a different tomato ketchup but I’ll stick to the soup – my family aren’t that adventurous.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

One thought on “Battle of the Bean

  1. Pingback: Tittbits. « Ralphie´s Portal

Please Leave a Reply

