Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

The Blogging Mum

Leave a comment

I recently read a World Book Day book – Walking the Walls by Chris Higgins.  I’d never read any of her stuff before so this was a quick twenty-minute read to get the flavour of her writing.  I shall definitely be picking up another of her books soon.  She writes so well about children’s lives you can almost taste the teen tension and angst.  I digress, the point is that the mother in the book is a blogger who has become so entrenched in the task that her son wonders what exactly she finds to blog about as she spends her days doing nothing else.  It turns out she lives vicariously through her children’s lives and blogs that out to the world.  I’m not like that.  I have read through a lot of my blogs and find that I am not so different though.  I pick up articles I have come across and that have moved me (in anger, to tears, to laughter…) and blog about my thoughts on those.  I rarely blog about my family and friends because I hate the voyeuristic element.  That is why I would make a lousy journalist and policeman/woman.  I hate the idea of exposing personal secrets.  Then again while I find the most salacious snippets of gossip amusing I am definitely not a Hello or OK reader.  Reality TV like Big Brother leaves me cold – I only ever tuned in to watch the one with Jade Goody and Shilpa Shetty because a pupil asked me what I thought of the racist comments.  I am not a fan.  The only reality TV I liked to watch was the cooking one with Marco Pierre White, and then it was mainly because of Marco not the celebrities. I’d rather be reading a good book.  Which brings me quite nicely back to Chris Higgins.

But this blog post does not end here, no sirree.  Today I went ahead and booked a holiday with airmiles.  Looking through the changes coming into place it turns out that if I leave it much longer I shall have to fork out a fair amount for what are currently free flights.  We were saving up for a trip to the states (Disney) in a few years but now it will be as cheap for me to pay to fly there.  It saddens me to say that after this one trip we shall not be saving up for airmiles, or Avios.  That name – far too similar to Adios, the weight loss pills!  With one you lose weight, with the other you lose money. Bye bye, airmiles.  I have a feeling you won’t live longer or prosper.

http://www.chrishigginsthatsme.com/

 

 

 

 

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

