Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Turn Off The Sound

2 Comments

I heard an interesting piece of advice once: if you want to see the true state of a relationship (and we were discussing film stars at the time) watch an interview with the couple and turn off the sound.  The dynamics and mood of a relationship, as we all know, fluctuate drastically and can be influenced from something as trivial as a long car ride to a serious illness.  But discounting other factors it is interesting to see the couple’s reactions to each other when the focus lifts off the words spoken and changes to their physical interaction with each other – how close they sit, whether they lean into each other or away, how often their eyes meet, the hint of a smile or sneer, the long glances at various body parts, the folded arms or open stance, touches or almost-touches, the instigator vs the acceptor… I could go on.  Everyone underestimates body language and I wish I was more fluent.  Why has this come to my mind?  Because I saw the interview with Mila Kunis and Justin Timberlake for ‘Friends with Benefits’; without the sound.

People watching is something I have always enjoyed doing.  In train stations, cafés,  the theatre, parties.  Even when I’m being driven down the motorway I like to watch the occupants of other cars and here is what is really spooky – they can almost always (99% of the time) tell when they are being observed.  That saying about ‘feeling someone’s stare’ is not without substance.  But possibly this post says more about me and my voyeuristic tendencies.  Not to worry, I have no net curtains to hide behind and twitch, so if you are a neighbour of mine then your secrets are safe.  I rarely observe people I know.  As for the rest of you, you’re all fair game so have a glance around now as you read this. 

As for the ‘sound to mute’ function, I dare you not to try it out.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

2 thoughts on “Turn Off The Sound

  1. You are being observed and studied through your writings.. sound muted, of course!

Please Leave a Reply

