Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Rewind

2 Comments

A hard disk drive with the platters and motor ...

Image via Wikipedia

If you’ve been reading my FB updates or tweets then you’ll know that a few days ago my hard drive stopped working.  It has since been replaced and I have now restored as much as I can – not off the old drive you understand; the only way to recover anything off there is to open it up in a clean room, transfer the disk to another drive casing, slave it to a PC and lift off whatever I am able.  The day it went down I saved the document and thought (I actually thought it, damnit!) that it’s about time I uploaded the manuscript.  Instead of doing just that I shutdown and went off to cook dinner.  Later my husband opened up the laptop and found, to my complete horror, that the drive was unresponsive.  The last time I’d uploaded/backed up the data was 10 days ago.  10 days!  That’s a heck of a lot of work and the last two of those I had  chopped, changed and fully edited about three chapters.

Penny Harper, Linda Turvey and I had attended a Marie Claire Writers’ conference a year or so ago when the speaker – Marian Keyes – spoke of one of her manuscripts dissolving into the web ether.  She lost half a book and had to sit down and rewrite it from scratch.  She maintains that it was one of the best things to happen as she firmly believes the rewrite was far superior to the original, even if it had been edited.  I keep remembering that and, not that I completely agree with her, but it made me feel a little better to think that if she managed to mentally retrieve her work then there is some hope left for me.  So, instead of taking my drive to the nearest computer whizzkid, I shall go ahead and redo the work.

My wonderful drive, RIP.

PS I am not blaming my husband at all in case it reads that way, even if I felt like thumping him a little bit at the time.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

2 thoughts on “Rewind

  1. I told you not to put it in the dishwasher !!
    Your ever attentive husband.

Please Leave a Reply

