Swimming in the Shallow End

There are some days when a full dip just isn’t going to make it onto the agenda.  With the best of intentions you will slip into a bathing suit, pop on a cap and goggles and then….spend the next hour chatting to a friend in the shallow end.  We’ve all done it.  Whether it is in the pool, doing the housework, going for a marathon walk, doing the filing – you don’t get any further than a few inches before you’re distracted.

Normally it isn’t a problem – unless it happens every single time – and you can tackle the excess at a later date.  In fact, sometimes it is imperative to ‘chillax’  and slow down the pace; take a breath and ‘smell the roses’.

I did just that earlier in the week.  I like to keep up-to-date with the news and it is ideal that I work in a library as I have the opportunity to scan the papers at some point.  But that day I didn’t.  I was just too busy.  Instead, when I had to go online (our computer system uses Internet Explorer), I quickly flicked over to BBC or Yahoo and checked the news headlines.

I didn’t have time to click on and read any of the news articles, I really didn’t, but had I had time guess which one I would have chosen?  The new Al-Qaeda leader?  The juror slapped on the wrist for fb’ing a defendant?  Details of the latest volcanic eruption?  Blasts in Triploi?  NHS; Tax cuts; educational news… I’m definitely wallowing in the shallow end as I would have chosen to look at the hats worn to Ascot!

There is a popular book at school called ‘Before I Die’ by Jenny Downham; it is about a girl who has a list of things she would like to do before she, uh, dies (definitely not a misleading title).  There are other books like that which aren’t fictional – 100 books you must read before you die; 100 places to visit… you get the picture.  Well, I try to do the same during those small snippets of time within the day when you find space to do something for yourself.  It doesn’t always have to be grandiose, highbrow or intellectually stimulating.  Sometimes you need to relax and satisfy the inner child by indulging in the frivolous.  So I would definitely have gone for the hats.  The news all gets covered again in the Sunday Papers anyway!

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

