Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Wholly Nutty

Leave a comment

Something is definitely wrong with me.  I went shopping today and didn’t buy any chocolate.  Some of you may be thinking: if it isn’t on the list… But I never, EVER, forget to buy chocolate.  Well, obviously that statement is patently untrue as I did forget.  But that’s my point.  This is the first time I forgot.  Worse – I’m absolutely fine about it!  What is wrong with me?  I hate not having chocolate in the house.  Even if I don’t eat it I am comforted at the thought that it is there!

We have a friend who feels that way about toilet rolls.  If there aren’t at least 6 spare loo rolls in the house he panics.

Where, when and how do these bizarre idiosyncracies manifest themselves?  I am sure that as a child I was completely unaware of the chocolate situation in the house.  Maybe it is just me and my friend who OCD over an inanimate object.  Like a child who has to have the comfort of parental presence.  Maybe we transferred that need over to toilet rolls and chocolate.

I’m sure that a lot of people feel exactly the same way about their mobile phones.  I have seen grown men thrown into a complete panic when they couldn’t locate theirs.  At school pupils end up in tears – okay, maybe they’re just scared of the bollocking they’ll get from their parents, but it is the same thing.

But here I sit, perfectly calm and contained.  Maybe this is what they called a delayed reaction.  Perhaps, later on in the evening, perhaps whilst performing my nightly ablutions, I shall turn into a crazed maniac and rush out of the house in my bedroom slippers and drive extremely fast to the first all-night petrol station I am able to locate and demand a cacao product.   It would be most unlike me.  But then I haven’t been chocolate-free for over two decades.

Things change.  Maybe someone’s invented a card  for it.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

