Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Get a SOH

1 Comment

One of the features on todays BBC website is the controversial subject of advertising bans.  In a country where freedom of speech is practised with a leash – don’t get me started – advertisers are fully aware of where and when they can draw the line.  Even when they think they’ve done nothing wrong someone somewhere is going to be upset.  Looking at the list and the reasons for the complaints I questioned just about every one of them. 

But the ones that really made me think “seriously?” were: the one for AF Barr plc which depicted cartoon animals being led into a butcher’s shop.  The ad was never shown around children’s programmes, but people still objected.  If you really don’t want people to know where the food comes from call it something other than ‘chicken’, ‘lamb’ and ‘beef’ because that is extremely obvious.  But of course, we are talking about a minority who needs things spelled out in pictures not words.

Then, there is the ad for Marmite and their ‘love it or hate it’ set of commercials.  They ran one set during the elections which parodied party campaigns.  Why did people get upset?  It makes no sense to me.  The ‘Hate Party’ led a campaign promising to stop the spread of Marmite (pun fully intended) and the ‘Love Party’ promised to spread the love of Marmite.  All perfectly obvious and sensible to me and perfectly in tune with the mood of the moment.  By the way, I would have voted ‘Hate’, but had there been a party which advocated Free Choice then they would have had my mark.

By the way, there’s no need to hold back if you think there is something objectionable about this blog.  I fully welcome all comments, just make them constructive as there’s nothing worse than an idiot who just says ‘this sucks’ without backing it up.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

One thought on “Get a SOH

  1. Vous avez de bons points il, c’est pourquoi j’aime toujours verifier votre blog, Il semble que vous etes un expert dans ce domaine. maintenir le bon travail, Mon ami recommander votre site.

    Mon francais n’est pas tres bon, je suis de l’Allemagne.

Please Leave a Reply

