Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam…

The last few spam items I’ve received have quoted the title of the blog within the description which is how, I think, it has passed through the filter.  This morning as I cleared through them I began to sing Monty Python’s Spam song for each one.  Of course, I only know the first couple of lines…!

My niece called me last night to let me know she finally screwed up the courage to have her ears pierced.  Brilliant, I thought and informed her her birthday presents for the next six years were now sorted out!  By the small lull of silence (which one can no longer put down to time delay) I knew what she was thinking, what I’d have thought at that age if my 40-odd year old aunt had threatened to buy me jewellery – Noooo! Not old-woman bling!  And threatened is definitely the right word.  My poor niece; and you know I’m not a nice enough person to just give her the money!

Another present idea I no longer need to worry about is for my son’s birthday. At least, I thought I had it sorted.  He’s turning 10 and I gave him the Argos catalogue to flick through, thinking, I’ll know which toy he’s really interested in because he’ll keep going to it and I can peer over his shoulder.  But my son takes the catalogue to his bedroom and I can’t see what he’s enthusing over. I snuck in and pinched the book back (so happy no other catalogues had made their way in there!) and to my relief he’d turned down the corner on a page in the toy section.  My relief was short-lived.  There are so many toys on that page I can’t work out which one he really like and I’m not buying them all!  So, I shall have to deploy my secret weapon – sister-spy – to extract the relevant information.

I think we’ll have chips for dinner. What to have with them…

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in Writing and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spam, Spam, Spam, Spam…

  1. Kristin Brænne says:

    ★★★★★

Please Leave a Reply

