Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Are You Squeamish?

2 Comments

What is it about the depraved that just makes you want to know the gory details and then disclaim over what you’ve learnt? Don’t read this if you’re squeamish, don’t like reading about surgical procedures or watching Jackass.  Seriously, Don’t!

Okay, the url is pretty informative, so you  get the idea that this is pretty horrible.  It was in the education section of The Guardian below an article about social groups in pre-teen girls.   I very nearly gave my daughter the relevant page before realising what was on the bottom.  The title was ambiguous as well.  Once I read the first couple of paragraphs and knew what it was about I just had to read the rest!  Why!  I don’t understand it.  I know there is a certian aspect of voyeurism about it but I would never choose to watch any of this in rea life.  Is it that factor, the sheer ickyness of it?  And is it the same sense of ‘What on Earth!’ that makes people read about the stars’ lives – something so outside the realm of our ordinary, boring lives that it is as good as a piece of fiction?

Certainly it is good fodder for many writers out there and recently I have started cutting out little snippets from papers about the terrible things that happen in people’s lives, for research purposes.

BTW this is the first time I have tried to add  a link to a blog so if it doesn’t work I’ll come back and paste the url.

Here is the url: http://www.guardian.co.uk/education/2011/mar/21/anal-surgeons-retrieve-objects-rectum

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

2 thoughts on “Are You Squeamish?

  1. The link is not visible. Visited this blog after quite a while. Like the recent posts.

    Narayanan

Please Leave a Reply

