Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

RTFM

1 Comment

I have always been a trier.  As soon as I get something new I want to play with it.  My husband has taken over this role in the house, but when he’s not around I take over and I suffer from serious RTFM syndrome.  It is boring to read the manual.  Trying things out for yourself is so much more interesting.  I only resort to the manual in cases where I am worried about doing something catastrophic.  With software there’s usually a backup.  Usually.

Today I didn’t read the manual.  I became annoyed by the ghastly sight of a plastic bag hanging on a tree, a disgusting little present left by a dog walker.  So, I thought, I know, I’ll setup one of those things that people can ‘like’ on Facebook.  But then I saw the ‘group’ function and thought, why not?  So, I created the group and invited – or so I thought – other people with dogs who also hate this practice to join.  That was my first big mistake.  It didn’t invite them, it made them join!  How is that possible for a start, making people join a group without their permission?  So, in full panic mode, and still completely in the RTFM zone, I deleted the group…or so I thought again.  What had happened was that I deleted myself from the group.  That was mistake number two and what a doozy.  It now meant I couldn’t get back into the group to remove everyone else, or do anything to the group!  Of course, when I tried to rejoin it told me I had to wait to be accepted!

My sincere apologies to everyone I included.  I’ve reported the group as spam – well, reported myself – and am hoping it will be removed soon.  The help file says that the group will be deleted automatically if it is empty, but that could be a while.  I’m steering well clear of groups!

I bet I still don’t RTFM!

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

One thought on “RTFM

  1. Pingback: Project 365 day one hundred and forty four, RTFM « Urbanbuda's Project 365 Photoblog

Please Leave a Reply

