Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Where to start

Leave a comment

There is so much out there at the moment I could comment on.  Not least is the situation in the middle east and its impact around the world – but I’m not going there. 

Then, there are the catastrophes of earthquakes and floods.  MY heart goes out to these families.  Unfortunately, after the fiasco with the Haiti relief fund, people are wary of putting their hands into their pockets.  I know it was only one – but it was one we know about.  The one that was exposed.  Then again, we have heard tales of many others where aid has been distributed unfairly.  So, for one of the first times ever, I have donated to the Red Cross instead of the nominated charities. 

Then, there was the Oscars – depending on which paper you read you will either be exposed to the debauched excesses of some of the party-goers, or the extravagance of others, or the humility of yet others.  In all it seemed like a great night for some and a disaster for others – and I do not refer to the lack of a gold doll doorstop.

There is an article about the ridiculous names babies have been given – that is not great news.  It is old news.  The names maybe different but the situation is the same. 

I am sitting i the staff room where there is a lovely waft of air coming from the radiators under the desk.  But above the desk is a different matter.  The badly fitted windows freeze my fingers as I attempt to type this and so I am like the asian plate.  Cold at the top and warm at the bottom.  No wonder people migrate south…that isn’t meant as a double entendre!

I saw a programme last night on Heston being invited to Cineworld to revamp their offerings.  I hate it when they invite someone with his quirky and out-of-this-world attitude to food and then complain that it isn’t mainstream enough.  It is a little like inviting a lion to dine and then complaining you’ve been bitten.  If you want run-of-the-mill basic fare then go for a different chef.  Of course, I’m missing the whole point of the programme which is to entertain.  But one thing i am sure Cineworld is going to go madover is the informaiton that it costs them a pound (or was it a penny) for a sack of popcorn which is then passed on to the cinemagoer at over £3 a bag.  They are then encourage to upsize for an aditional 50p.  Guess what I shan’t be buying at the cinema…

My hubby changed the channel the other night to ‘Holiday Homes From Hell’ or something like that, you get the picture.  It was far too late to be watching such depressing stuff.  I felt sorry for the owners while appreciating the dilemma and was left feeling angry and frustrated.  Maybe I ought to have watched it to the end when everything was resolved but it really didn’t feel like that was the way the programme was going.  Give me ‘Men Behaving Badly’ instead.  I like feeling slightly envious before I hit the hay. 

Then there was a wonderful piece of French homework my daughter came home with where they wre given a recipe – all in french – that they had to translate and then follow the instructions and produce the meal.   Bonus points to the french teacher.  Of course, I loved it most because I was let off cooking that night!

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

