Man overboard!

A bad day yachting

Image by tastybit via Flickr

My family did a few years out in Dubai, UAE which we thoroughly enjoyed.  When my husband was first offered the job he was told the crucial factor:  you leave the plane with two buckets, one marked S**T and the other Marked MONEY; when one of them is full you leave!

We loved our time there but it is not an easy place to work for so many reasons; you really have to want to be there and understand the way business is conducted if you are to have any hope of having a ‘nice time’.  We came across lots of people who hated it, but we also came across lots of people who were ideally suited to it and are still there.

I do, of course, speak from the second-class-citizen viewpoint.  As a labourer and a third-class citizen it is a completely different ball-game.  Different rules, working conditions, freedoms and pay packets.  Their S**T bucket is much larger and their wages are miniscule.  That is another story for another time. 

Of the fantastic friends we made over there is a South African/New Zealand couple with two adorable children.  I have to tell you about this most recent incident.  The man of the family pilots yachts to their new owners.  ‘Nice’, I hear you thinking.  Yes, lovely.  Gorgeous boats, sailing, being at one with the world and doing what he loves.  Bliss.  Now, his family were flying over to join him from NZ  for Christmas and this is what happened:

????? has just been rescued by coast guards of the coast of Doha from the ranging sea. The yacht he was delivering to Bahrain sank in three minutes flat and him and the first mate had to bail out, He has obviously lost everything, passport, wallet etc and now is trying to get emergency travel docs to get back to Duba…i in time for our arrival on Sunday. ..thank God he is safe and sound.

Then:

?????? now has a 10 day emergency passport from British Embassy and was booked on flight from Doha to Dubai last night. He was all checked in with boarding pass but Passport Control refused to let him leave. Was sent back to the police station who now request a letter from the owner of the boat to say he allows them to leave. Owner not taking any calls and not answering any e-mails.

You have to laugh!  Bless him.  I can just imagine him at the airport.  What would your reaction have been – and be warned, you have no passport, no identity docs, no money and, as far as they are concerned, are there illegally!
He is safe and well and was with his family in time to carve the turkey. 
 
 
 
About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Man overboard!

  1. It was extremely interesting for me to read the article. Thanks for it. I like such themes and anything that is connected to them. I definitely want to read more soon.
    Whitny Kripke

Please Leave a Reply

