Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

The Elephant In The Garden

Leave a comment

The eye of an asian elephant at Elephant Natur...

Image via Wikipedia

You know that weird expression about big commonly-known secrets that no-one talks about, the proverbial ‘elephant in the room’ at dinner parties?  Well, I have an elephant in my garden, on the terrace to be exact.  It is a baby elephant made out of resin and was a present from  my husband and children (because I love elephants!).  Like the big secret that hovers, waiting to pounce, on your collection of friends and acquaintances, the elephant in my garden is just one of the many bright distractions that draws me away from my writing.  I see something, hear something, and my mind is winging its way onto another story, another scenario and it overwhelms me so much that I cannot write another word of the novel my publisher is gnashing his teeth for until I’ve transposed my thoughts to paper.  I have page upon page of beginnings, endings and middles of stories that I will one day stretch to completion.

My elephant meanwhile smiles coyly, its trunk coiled realistically, and watches me as I struggle to ignore it. 

It has just occurred to me that I write about procrastinating so much that this blog is fast becoming a distraction in its own right!

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

