Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

A Voice for the Woods

Leave a comment

I read the Sunday Times all week.  Yes, all week.  Sometimes I go back and reread a piece and that was the case yesterday with the article on the plight of our woodlands.  It has been nagging at me almost constantly since Sunday morning.  On first reading it had the shock value of a Daily Mail piece, urging me to disbelief and anger.  The article comments on the plans to sell off Britain’s public woodlands. 

Let me digress a minute: A few years ago, St Andrews school in Chinnor, Oxfordshire proposed plans to sell of half the grounds to a housing development company and utilise the funds to rebuild the main part of the school.  Now, the land was given to the village of Chinnor by a well-known local family, to be used byt the people and children of the village.  Because of these plans the school buildings were left unmaintained for years and years – why spend money on the upkeep of something you intend to knock down?  Oxfordshire county council maintain that as they look after the property,  and it is in Oxfordshire which they govern,  they have the right to sell it off.  Of course, this means that they don’t have to use council funds to maintain/rebuild.  But the property belongs to the village.  It does not belong to Oxfordshire County Council.

The same applies to the public woodlands.  They belong to the people of the United Kingdom and their sale, as far as I am concerned, is illegal.  When the banks got into trouble and were bailed out by the government, I noticed that no bankers were made to account for the trouble, not one of them was sent to prison for misuse of funds or fraud.  In what other area of society would this happen?  The country is now owed a huge debt by the banks.  I don’t know about you but if I owe someone some money I pay them before I buy myself a new pair of shoes.  But that is not how the banks moral compass works.  Their profits are not used to reimburse their creditors; the money goes straight back into their pockets as bonuses.  So, let’s get this straight – the bankers are paid well and receive bonuses when they perform well, when they fail to do their job and lose everyone’s money they are bailed out and then, instead of repaying their debt, they reward themselves and we end up losing our beautiful land to keep ourselves afloat. 

The trees have no voice; the people’s voice has been muffled and the ear of the country’s government is given to the bankers. 

Something is rotten in the state of Denmark 

http://www.woodlandtrust.org.uk/

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

