Book Covers

I would love to know how other people come up with their book covers.  Now, I’m not the most artistic of people especially when it comes to digital media (you need only view my profile pic to see that), and my ideas of covers that reflect the book is very mainstream.  For example, I thought my book called The Red Shoes ought to feature a pair of red shoes.  But, as the story itself was a little, uh, depressing(?) the background ought to be a little gloomy.  So, what I did was troll through the wealth of images (free ones, obviously) available on the internet (as I had no red ballet shoes of my own to snap) until I found a picture that ‘spoke to me’.  I came across loads of pictures and downloaded many of them.  I then went back and read the book, then immediately picked the one that, to me, reflected the mood of the book.  A little (terrible) artistic work with paint, added in title and author name in a sombre colour, et voila!  A book cover I could upload.  All in all it took me the best part of three hours, which is a hell of a lot longer than it took me to write the darned story.  Hopefully I shall get better with practice.  Of course, next time I might just photograph it myself.

The publishers in charge of my book Banished are doing the artwork for the cover and I shall be interested to see what the professionals come up with.

Next on the agenda is a press release for Banished so I shall be searching for suitable blogs to advise me on that aspect.  No doubt I shall do it when I’m half-asleep and end up with a book, a weight and some flowers…

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in Publishing, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

