Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Learning to Smash

5 Comments

Well, I did it, I uploaded a copy of The Red Shoes for worldwide distribution on the Smashwords website and on its first day it had been downloaded over 40 times with 1 review.

I was surprised, I have to admit, mainly because I was unaware of Smashwords’ popularity.  Okay, I was ignorant, am ignorant, of the epublishing world.  It will take me a long time to get the hang of it, and by then it will have, no doubt, morphed once more. 

As a Smashwords virgin I was apprehensive about making a piece of work available, but now that I have made that leap I do believe it will be hard not to keep uploading material if only because I am bound to get hooked onto the drug of reviews. 

Of course, now I can’t help popping in and out of Smashwords to see the stats info, not dissimilar to an actor constantly peering through the curtains.  Peek-a-boo!

 http://www.smashwords.com/books/view/36249

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

5 thoughts on “Learning to Smash

  1. Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog.

    I enjoyed reading this post. I hope you have success with your writing. I’ve heard of smashwords but have not looked into it. I guess I will have to do that. It is always good to get positive reviews and to get your name out there.

  2. Wow, I’m glad that I was a good influence on somebody. Hope the one story is just the beginning of something big for you.

  3. Congratulations on getting your story on Smashwords. I plan to be on there in a couple of months.

    I liked the story. My only comment would be about saying that Caleb never recovered. Maybe it’s just me, but it led me to anticipate that he would be an invalid for the rest of his life. Is that what you intended so that the end would be a complete surprise?

    • This was a very quick story that popped into my head one morning a couple of weeks ago so I wasn’t as careful with it overall as I should have been and didn’t do anything other than a very quick edit. It’s that age-old problem – when I read it in my head it sounds right, but I need someone else’s input to tell me where it jars and comes unstuck. I shall read it again and pull back into line, thanks.
      Actually it was one of your blogs that got me to thinking that uploading a couple of shorts may get my name out there and Smashwords is fantastic for that, so thank you again.

Please Leave a Reply

