Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Evolution of the spoken word

2 Comments

I’ve started Twittering, or is it Tweeting?  As hard as I found it to blog I am even less sure about letting people know the more mundane aspects of my existence.  For a start it is Boooooring (capital B, you noticed) to anyone that isn’t me and only the snippets worth mentioning are written here.  But I shall persevere.  One good thing to come out of it is that I have linked up with other wordsmiths.

We have house-martins (should that be preceded with capitals?) and my son asked my husband, ‘Doesn’t that get annoying?  All that noise?’  The birds are wedged right under his office window.  My husband said, ‘No, I like all the tweeting.’  My son burst into laughter.  ‘Why are you laughing?’ asked my confused husband, checking his nose for descending boogers.  ‘Birds aren’t on the internet, Dad.  They don’t know how to tweet!’  Forget the mini-lecture my son was exposed to about the origin of words and let’s focus instead on language and its neverending evolution/development/restructuring…call it what you will but language does not stand still.  I am, I admit, a bit of a grammar geek.  After carelessly dropped litter the careless misuse of an apostrophe sends my blood pressure into the stratosphere.  But I am also a complete word-nerd and love the wonderous morphability of words.  Although I correct them, I love it when the children misuse words because of the way they sound and feel (can’t for the life of me think of an example but I shall start hoarding them from now).  I am going to direct you to the following website: http://www.lssu.edu/banished/current.php which is a list of banished words because they are being used in a context other than their original directive.  I have listed it in Favourites under ‘Stupid Sites’ so there is no mistaking what I think of it.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

2 thoughts on “Evolution of the spoken word

  1. I don’t use Twitter for the mundane stuff, but then I rarely write about my personal life at all. I find Twitter very useful for keeping me up with latest news about publishing and writing, and interesting conversations that usually center on those topics. Selective following is what makes it useful without being too annoying.

Please Leave a Reply

