Trash

I refer to the novel, not the content of this blog. 

Earlier this week it came to my attention that the Blue Peter Awards removed the novel Trash from their shortlist because it has two swear words and one violent scene.  The book is about the poverty-stricken youngsters that live, like so many of today’s unfortunates, on a rubbish site.  They live by their wits and are in constant danger not only from the site they occupy, work, eat, sleep and generally survive in, but also from the other people who are there.  I would expect the book to reflect all of the trauma these children go through and am now eager to read this book to find out if the swear words were used gratuitously and if the violence scene is so very harrowing as to endanger our children’s fragile minds.  I shall report back this weekend on my findings.

Oh, it is interesting, is it not, that I searched high and low in the children’s section of my bookshop only to find the book in the teen section.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Publishing, Recommendation, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trash

  1. bet365 says:

    hello I was fortunate to look for your Topics in bing
    your post is quality
    I get a lot in your topic really thank your very much
    btw the theme of you website is really impressive
    where can find it

Please Leave a Reply

