I Want One! (maybe)

Okay, another addition to my christmas list is the Livescribe Echo Smartpen.  (I think the pen’s smartness is a reflection of the owner’s smartness, although it is more technologically advanced than your average ballpoint). 

It is (apparently) perfect for writers.  How many times have you needed to jot some witticism really quickly and then have it uploaded to your PC?  I write longhand, then retype it, then proof it.  Very laborious.  With this pen I can remove at least one step, namely retyping it.  But better than that – I can write snippets as they come to me without scrabbling for paper and pen and a flat surface.  Just switch on and write away.  Or, at least, that is the impression I have of this object.  I may be completely wrong.

It writes, draws and some other wonderstuff too, I’m sure. 

Downside?  It looks very fat.  No – I’m not being sizeist, but seriously, if you’re used to writing with a slim pencil then it is going to feel bloody awkward.  On the plus side you won’t lose it in your handbag and, if you’re a fella, might be an enhancement when placed strategically within a deep trouser pocket.

Questions: Will it write without actually writing?  I mean – I may not want the words to appear.  From the video it looks as though you need a special book too, but that isn’t what I want; and how many pages in the book – how much is the book?  An A4 writing pad with 800 pages which costs a £1 is the sort of cost I am used to.  Also, how much information will the pen hold?  Can I put my 500,000 word novel into it? 

I think it might be a better tool for students and businesspeople, but for writers… a little more research is required.  They definitely didn’t invent this pen with authors in mind – or at least, not antiquated authors like me.

I shall definitely have to get into a John Lewis to check it out.  Here is the Amazon link if you’re interested:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/ref=pe_79141_22655431_pe_118Q3/B003UNL14S

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Publishing, Recommendation, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

