Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Beer Vs Wine

Leave a comment

I love wine.  I love beer.  But which is better?  There is only one way to find out (getting them to fight is a complete waste) and that is to drink them!  I have been conducting this experiment for many years now and there are distinct advantages to wine over beer, as there are to beer over wine.  By the way when I say beer I do, of course, mean lager for there is nothing comparable to bitter.  That requires a special tasting all its own and I have not the superior palate required (or so my husband assures me).

Wine is lighter, fruitier (if your lager tastes fruity you need to change it or ask the bartender why he’s trying to palm you off with fruit punch), headier and I love wine glasses.  Lager, on the hand, is cheaper, fills you up faster, fizzier (I love the sharp, cold tang) and doesn’t need a glass.  Wine is classier and lager is unpretentious. 

So, my conclusion is to drink both.  I drink what my meal calls for (I never drink wine with curry), and, if I’m not dining, then what the occasion calls for (I never drink lager at weddings).  There is a place for both and I’m glad for I enjoy them both equally.

I am now conducting a completely different experiment in conjunction with my good friend Ms C Lawrence.  We are trying to establish whether fizzy white wine (champagne if Mr. le Banker is amenable) will reduce the chances of a hangover.  My problem is that I trend to fall asleep before I get drunk so this experiment could last a few years.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

