Blooming Minds

‘The Brain that Changes Itself’ by Norman Doidge investigates the  science of Neuroplasticity.  Now, most ‘regular’ everyday scientists would frown upon the whole idea of neuroplasticity – indeed they have done for hundreds of years, decried the power of positive thought having any physical effects even though each and every single one will admit that there is more to learn about the human brain than there is to forget.  Neuroplasticity is considered to be one of those ‘out-there’, sci-fi freaky sciences with more theory than fact.  The basic theory is this: our thoughts can change the structure and physiology of our brain.

For hundreds of years buddhist monks have maintained that positive thinking and mediation has mind-altering effects.  We all ‘know’ now that the more exposed a baby is to various stimuli the better/faster/more numerous brain nerve connections it will have.  I mean, the baby Mozart cd is a reality; of course you could attribute the sales to the ‘there could be something in this and I don’t want my baby to have missed out just because I don’t believe in it’ pushy parent syndrome. 

We know that if a child is exposed to different languages at an early age they will find it easier to learn a completely new language later.  Look at the number of multilingual children out there.  My mother assures me that until the age of 6 I could converse fluently (or as much as a 6 year-old can) in more than 4 different languages.  I lost the ability through lack of use but even now I will pick up the basics of a new language without too much work.le brain injuries can go on to recover brain function, connections are made or re-established.  If all these things are possible then surely there is something within ourselves that can make our brains function better than they do already?

They are already developing drugs that will improve brain activity, implanting chips to bypass faults – neuroplastics is the natural alternative and we need to explore this before we go down the route of flooding our brains with chemicals or attaching chips.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in Critique, Publishing, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

