Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Defending the pen

Leave a comment

I disapprove of what you say but I will defend to the death your right to say it Voltaire

Well, even though the words were Hall’s summary and not an exact quote, the sentiment holds.  The freedom of speech, after democratic voting, is one of the finest things about the ‘free world’.  As you all know, I am not a prissy shy thing cowering whenever someone shouts an obscenity or calls me a name.  I may not like it, and will get angry, that is as much my right as the other person’s for saying it in the first place.  But when it comes to threats to harm and words that incite racial hatred then that is where the freedom of speech needs a sub-clause and we have it in the public orders act, the ‘incitement to racial hatred’ offence. 

Now, Youtube have a particular dilemma because the clips calling for martyrs does not incite racial hatred, for ‘the west’ is not a race, nor is it a ‘group of people’.  The wording used in the videos lightly sidesteps out of the ring of illegalities, tightly skirting the legal loophole with its inflamed speeches.  But, I do not understand why the government cannot step in, treating the videos as a matter of national security, and insist that Youtube demand the owners moderate their tone and remove any articles that incite violence.  After all, Youtube have before now shut down clips that bully other individuals so can this not be taken as bullying on a grand scale?

Seriously Youtube, get a grip and stop playing into their pristine, unsullied hands – hands that place the knife into another’s to kill and maim and are then held up in innocence.  For, as they maintain, words are not in themselves murderous. 

But we know different.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

