Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Mumbled Humble Pie

Leave a comment

A trifle made in Derby, England to welcome in ...

Image via Wikipedia

 

My view is Life is too short to do something you don’t like if you don’t have to.  Specifically, reading a book that, within the first chapter or so, just doesn’t grab you.  I receive recommendations all the time and the majority of them are good.  Some, even though my friend/colleague loved it, just isn’t my cup of tea.  To date I have discarded 3 novels.  All of them within the last 24 months because before that I just couldn’t do it.  I have a compulsion to finish anything I start which is why, although it took me three times longer than anyone else and several grey hairs, I finally got my CBT (preliminary motorbike licence).  

So, when everyone kept raving about the Millenium trilogy books (Girl with a Dragon Tattoo) I gave in.  I hated it, or at least I hated the first 1/3 of it.  Loved the girl, could have done without the laborious, tedious elements, but I persevered (as my friends requested) and did end up enjoying it.  However, I had decided not to put myself through it again and for weeks, months, ignored the remainder of the trilogy.  But then, three days ago, I was persuaded (see how weak-willed I am) to give book 2 a try.  Readers, I have to tell you that the whole of book 2 reads like the second half of book 1 and is completely worth it.  There was one amazing insightful comment about Teleborian’s perversions that made the whole book for me.  

So, having sat up half the night to read it I embarked on the third without any pressure.  Oh, dear heaven, it  started off like the first book.  I felt as though I was wading through lumpy custard. But I was determined to finish it, after all I was two thirds of the way through the trilogy and I was urged on by my memory of the first book turning itself around.  I admit that I am so very tempted to flip to the end and read the resolution, to end my torture, but, if this is anything like the first and second books, the true value of the novel lies not in the conclusion but in the little snippets of clarity that emerge from the custard covered lumps of shivering, colourful jelly.  The custard turns into a trifle and a sherry trifle at that. I shall log off now and dig in. 

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

