Queuing etiquette

At Legoland they have little areas where the kids can play lego while Mum/Dad/helpful-other queue.  Once the front of the queue is reached the children join them.  Perfect.  Chessington haven’t quite cottoned on to this fact, but hopefully it is in the offing.  Whilst queueing for the Dragon Falls (not too scary) ride earlier this week the children were lagging behind.  I explained to the lady behind me that my 2 kids were on their way and I wouldn’t be on the ride anyway.  She assured me it wasn’t a problem and the guy behind her didn’t have a problem with it either.  My friend’s son decided he needed the loo so she left the queue with him.   When the kids turned up I told them to politely excuse themselves and join me (about 10 people in by this point).  Apparently one of the men at the end of the queue took great exception to this and was not particularly nice to the kids.  About 15 minutes later (the toilet break was longer than expected) and armed with ice-creams my friend returned.  The man (let’s call him the jerk to save time) had a go at her in a very loud and angry tone.  My friend tried to explain but he was having none of it.  Now, we appreciate that it isn’t nice when people queue jump and we don’t like it either but we weren’t doing that!  When we reached the front of the first section of the queue the jerk marched over and told the attendant we were queue jumping.  We tried to explain, the lady behind us and the man behind her tried to explain, but jerk got louder and angrier and refused to accept any of this.  My son was seriously frightened by this point and screamed at the jerk to stop arguing.  The jerk told my son to shut up, I finally lost my cool and turned on the jerk…  You get the point.  Everyone angry, children in tears, attendant miserable and the joy in the ride almost obliterated.

As the queue continued and the children calmed down we found ourselves directly above the jerk on a bridge.  It was sooooo tempting to empty a bottle of water on jerk’s head and say ‘Sorry, my son really needed to pee but we daren’t leave the queue’!  Even though we didn’t do it, the very thought had us in stitches and our day recovered. 

My friend and I decided that must have been the jerk’s first day out with his kids and he just wasn’t coping.  I would have felt sorry for his family if they hadn’t boo’ed the children when they finally got in the ride.  As it is I think jerk is in for a real shock when his kids grow up.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

