The bleedin’ obvious

‘Mummy, can you see anything in my eye?’

I checked my 11 year old’s eye and all was fine but I was left shaken because I had had a revelation.  One of those oh-so-obvious things that you don’t have to think about it.  Something that just is.  But for me this thought was astounding because, whilst I may have always known it, I had never truly appreciated it.

The flash of knowledge was that I was “Mummy”: fixer, protector, nourisher.  After years and years of self-doubt I was assured and confident that I would do everything I could possibly for this one person.  She made me confident.  For her I would not contemplate failure, fear was pushed aside, and this persona was alien to the normal everyday me.

While I struggled daily to make myself fit into this responsible mould, to my daughter it was the foundation on which her world rested.  Her father and I were her safety, security, the one constant she took with her into the unknown future.  We were her shield and her fortress.

Such revelations require a stiff drink.  I’ll have one after I’ve read her another story and slayed a dragon or two.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

