Brainfreeze

I do not refer to ice-cream, more to what others might term writer’s block.  I experienced it for the first time yesterday.  It used to be that I could look at anything, be it a stain on a carpet or a cat licking itself, and words would flood my brain, like an opiate (I’ve read about it rather than experienced it!).  Since December last year, when I started writing, I have had to pick up a writing implement and put these garbled thoughts onto paper; I had no will, no self-control.  But yesterday I was blank.  Completely.  It was as though all the words in my brain had gone away on holiday and forgot to let me know.  I sat there for nearly 10 minutes, pen poised over my writing pad, before I gave up. 

Some of you are now saying ’10 minutes?  Is that all?’    I am a realist.  If it isn’t working, go away and try again later; I apply this to many things: talking to children, cooking, gardening, diets (I haven’t cracked that one yet).  What’s the point of sitting there working yourself into a lather?  Get moving, experiencing, living.  Only in this way can your brain re-engage.  Obviously the concentrated writing focus of the past few months was too much for my weak mind and it went on strike.  I tell you now, I did exactly the right thing.  The words are back.  They’re not great, somewhat pale and displaying ‘flu-like symptoms, but they are there.  I shall not overwork them again.  Ok, that’s a promise I won’t be able to keep, but I shall try to take more breaks.  It’s hard though when the words are pushing at you, urging you on, and the fear that you won’t be  able to remember the gems that whisper against your conciousness sends you rushing for that secret little notebook and pen you’ve hidden in the knicker drawer…

View Image

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

