Beyond the brain

Drugs have been used by almost every culture to access the ‘other conciousness’, and thereby access the area of the universe which we are unaware of in our normal state. 

Spirit guides, free writing, speaking in tongues – all claim to be messages from this alternative reality.  Now, I am very sceptical as to the existence of something that makes no sense in my world and that I am unable to experience.  But that is where faith comes in.  How is it that so many can believe in the existence of God, believe the universe was created by a higher being, yet discount the notion that we are not seeing the whole picture.  It has always struck me as bizarre that those who make the greatest claim to an all-knowing belief in God because of the very fact that the Universe exists are also the ones who decry the most fundamental aspect of true belief: if you see it, taste it, experience it then it must be true!   Halucinogens open a window to a previously walled world.  Why is it so very unlikely that it is as real as God?

OK, many of you will say ‘blasphemer’, and you have a right to your opinion, but is that not the whole point?  Why is your belief in God so much more more circumspect? 

I really ought not to write my blog when I’m tired.  My brain regurgitates thoughts without a filter and my fingers are the whores that will service them. 

I hope my mother never reads this.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

