Blasé? I don’t think so

There used to be a time when humanity had to have patience before they could enjoy the ‘arts’.  Music, paintings, song, wine, drama, dance, stories – they all had to be prepared with love and attention and were a one-off experience. Each performance treasured not just for its brilliance but for its rarity.   The performers usually had to move on or would get tired and it wasn’t cheap.  Only the elite could afford such entertainment on a regular basis. 

Today we have cds, wine shops, theatres, dvds, libraries, galleries…  We are all now the elite in that respect.

I melt when I hear some pieces of music.  When I hear a rendition of a great Opera classic I marvel at the brilliance, the clarity of the sound as though the artist were sitting right next to me and am grateful to be able to listen to it over and over and over again.  The very best, purest, sweetest sound that the artist is able to produce is recorded for us to access whenever, wherever, as often we like.

We may no longer have the patience, but we have not lost the appreciation.

Talking of the arts and Eclipse (what do you mean we weren’t?) there is a website called skinit that will provide a ‘skin’ for your mobile/laptop/mp3 player, you name it, with a picture of a twilighter.  I looked for Edward Cullen.  Yes, you heard me.  I’m Team Edward!  Unfortunately they don’t do a skin for my particular ‘phone and, I have to admit, I love my ‘phone more than Edward Cullen.  Then again, I may change my mind after seeing Eclipse…

http://www.skinit.com/landing_page.php?id=eclipse&AFFILIATE=comjct

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Blasé? I don’t think so

  1. Linda T says:

    See all the poetic stuff about art and music was read and dismissed – the bit that got my attention was the mention of Eclipse!!!
    I am Team Edward too, although I wouldn’t say “No” to Jacob if he asked. They don’t do my phone either! So I will just have to look at my Robert Pattinson wall calendar and smile sadly to myself like the old perv I must seem!
    Lindy Lou Lou

Please Leave a Reply

