Victory dance (x 0.5)

Earlier in the week I managed to get hold of tickets to see the preview of Shrek 4 and took the kids (OK, the kids took me!).  I managed to catch a cold off one of the other delightful cherubims in the audience and so have spent the last couple of days feeling like a sack of muccus ready to implode (yes, I mean IMplode).  I’m bunged up and nose-blowing just isn’t working.  So, this morning I was sooooo happy when I received an email from a publisher asking – wait for it – to see the rest of my manuscript. 

Yipppppeeeee!

I had to read the email three times.  I stared and stared at the paragraph where they make the comment ‘…we would be very likely to offer to publish…’  Aaaghhh – there was no one to go running to and hug.  I didn’t want to tell the kids as they wouldn’t understand.  Hubby was out so I emailed it to him.  Did he call back?  No, but he replied with a ‘fantastic, but’ – you know, the cautious email (sensible chap my hubby).  So I emailed some friends who’ve read the book in question and they did the hip hoorays and ‘go for it’s. 

So, half a victory dance was in order.  I sent the kids out to play and danced wildly around the office.  In my pyjamas. 

The hard part comes when they approve of the full product – to incorporate the changes they recommend. 

Oh, and I put up a parasol today!  A friend was getting rid of hers as the canopy was ripped so I took it off her (I promise I didn’t pull it out of a skip!) patched it up and the kids had a picnic lunch under it. 

I also had two more brilliant ideas for  stories – must remember to write them down before I forget what they are…

It’s all happening today – still feel like crap but it’s looking up!

Can I get a snot-nosed smiley on here? 🙂

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Victory dance (x 0.5)

  1. Deepa says:

    Congratulations and get well soon!

Please Leave a Reply

