Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Kisses and cuddles

Leave a comment

Women needs hugs – all the time!  It is the emotional stabiliser required to secure our foundations.  It re-enforces our belief in ourselves, our deeds, our looks, our views.  I know, I know, women nowadays are strong self-fulfilling hard-asses who can hang out anywhere and make it work.  But seriously, if you are in a relationship and the hugs and cuddles stop, it is devastating.  Your self-confidence plummets and you question everything!  Do you remember when you were little and you did something wrong your parents, while angry with you, still showed you they loved you with a kiss or a cuddle?  The awful parents withheld their love, as though it was the ultimate reward for being good, quiet, hard-working…  It was something that had to be earned.  When your guy starts to withhold affection – or just doesn’t plain realise how important it is – it feels as though you’ve failed, that something is lacking – that you’re no longer good enough!  It is demoralising and starts the snowball rolling.  Arguments ensue, followed by long periods of non-communication, tempers flare higher, slights are seen in every word, gesture and look.  Where before a cutting or sarcastic statement might have been laughed away it sprouts instead another quarrel. 

For the sake of a cuddle the smile was lost, for the sake of a smile the joy was lost, for the sake of joy self-confidence was lost, for the sake of self-confidence sense of humour was lost….

From horseshoes to countries and kisses to relationships.  Women and men need many things.  But it all starts with an affirmation of affection from their partner, that it still exists.  For women that affirmation requires a quick kiss, cuddle, note – the more unexpected the better.

It’s only my opinion.  I am a woman…

…that needs cuddles!

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

