Harbinger of Doom

Today the spectre of death stepped lightly and fearlessly into my path.  Please note that I was driving at the time and the spectre was a carrion crow, alone, unruffled and quite alive.  As I approached it did not, as I expected, fly away.  I steppedon the brakes and managed to steer my wheel around the still bird.  As I looked back in my mirrors there was no sign of it either walking, flying or, gulp!, dead.  It had vanished.

I have decided that it is an omen that I shall cheat death (rather than meet it) and went on to the supermarket and bought myself a huge chocolate bar – kidding!  It scared me, I don’t mind admitting it.  I am a little superstitious.  For example, my husband will tell you that it used to drive him crazy that I hate walking around and through things because – forget the superstition about ladders – I don’t like getting things tangled up in the path of my life.  If I have turned around I will turn back before I continue forward so I don’t create a knot or loop.  Crazy, I know.  Quite often I will inadvertently create a tangle and there is nothing for it but to leave it  and carry on.  The worst ones are in busy areas where there is no hope of untangling yourself and I have to take a deep breath and continue.  Behind me my life path is so twisted and knotted that it will take me an age to unravel when I am ready to take my last breath.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Please Leave a Reply

