Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Flogging poetry

2 Comments

I love writing.  I enjoy making up little poems for friends and family, for special occassions, but when I have to sit down and write a serious poem, or a poem for something particularly painful, like a bereavment, I find it difficult.   To convey all that emotion, texture, ambience, attitude in a single line, with several words is frustratingly difficult.  I tried, when my father died, to write a poem for him, but gave up after 3 months.  Maybe it was harder because the grief was too close, I don’t know.  But having struggled so hard with it I re-read some of my favourites with new eyes, researching the background of the poem, the inspirations, the muses, the situations from which they arose … and I am now in awe of poets that are able to say so much with so little – which is th ewhole point, I know.  I wonder then what more we could learn about Shakespeare’s sonnets if we knew of the whos, whats, wheres, whens, whys and most especially about the person they were written for and his relationship to the person he wrote of.

If you get the chance, listen to Alan Rickman (‘Snape’ to the uninformed) reading sonnet 130 on youtube.  When a poem is read with such passion it can melt a heart.  I get the same feeling when I listen to a good rendition of Habanero.

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

2 thoughts on “Flogging poetry

  1. Just want to say what a great blog you got here!
    I’ve been around for quite a lot of time, but finally decided to show my appreciation of your work!

    Thumbs up, and keep it going!

    Cheers
    Christian, iwspo.net

Please Leave a Reply

