Woohoo

Finally finished typing up the second novel.  I have given it a tentative title but it will change as I don’t like it. 

I feel – drained!  With the first novel I was euphoric but this one is so emotional that I need to sit down.  I cried as I wrote it, cried as I typed it and now I have to have a break from it. 

Having said that, i think I enjoyed writing it more than the first one.  It wasn’t easier, the characters weren’t more loveable, there is no one thing I could put my finger on and say ‘that’s why’.  A bit like choosing a plant.  You don’t necessarily know why you pick up one perfect Gerbera over another, but there is something that just feels right.

Now, I’m off to watch umpteen episodes of Mentalist and House.  I’ve just emerged from one emotional rocking boat to drown myself in another.  But at least I didn’t live with those characters.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in New Author, Women's Fiction, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Woohoo

  1. cherilaser says:

    For many years, I wrote everything in longhand too, always saying that the computer seemed to interfere with my creativity while I was trying to get the initial story out of my head. But eventually I realized how much time that process was consuming by the time I keyed all of my longhand into a file.

    So I forced myself over about a year to write something creative directly into the computer every day. Those “somethings” were very short in the beginning. But my entire second novel went directly from my head into the computer. And now I’m convinced that training myself to bypass the longhand ended up saving me a full year with that second book.

    Everyone writes differently, though. And I’ve read about famous prolific authors who still write the first draft in longhand. Same with the outline idea. What works for one writer will not necessarily work for another. But I do like to at least try different methods to see if something that I didn’t like years ago feels different to me now.

    Thanks again for keeping the conversation going. I love talking with young, energized writers who offer different perspectives on just about everything. Please stay in touch!

  2. Congrats and I agree to leave it sit for a month before going back to edit. It clears your mind and gives you a fresh look at the piece and helps in the editing process. I can’t wait to read it!

    Sierra Michaels
    Author of Intimate Encounters
    http://www.sierramichaels.com

    • beaturvey says:

      I like that you guys have all put excerpts from your books into your blogs. Is that a common thing, ought I to do the same? Just had a look at yours Sierra (brilliant name, btw). Like the Divas. What are Chiapas – I’m intrigued and want to read more…

  3. cherilaser says:

    Now that you’ve finished the initial draft, how do you plan to approach the editing? And how have you decided to approach the publishing process? When you have a free minute, I invite you to stop by my blog for some ideas and conversation. Take care.

    Cheri

    • beaturvey says:

      With my last book I left it for a month before I went back and edited it. I shall do the same with this one. In the meantime I’ll go back to the first one and go through each paragraph/page. I have let some friends and family members read it – a wide selection of ages and interests among them – and have fantastic feedback. I have the first three chapters printed and ready to submit. I used the Writers & Author’s handbook to get details of agents interested in women’s fiction, but I’m great at procrastinating and the copies are currently doing a good job of filling space on a shelf!
      I shall visit you. Thanks.

      • cherilaser says:

        Let me know after you’ve been to my blog. I’d really enjoy a dialogue!

      • beaturvey says:

        Hello

        I’ve been to your blog and am going to look to have a read of the samples you mention when I get a chance. I’m curious about your books.

        As I said, I am very new to this, just a few months in. I’m a Library Manager and my only exposure to writing (after school) was when I was in IT writing articles for the client newsletter and writing manuals. The first had to be humorous and the second had to be concise.

        I have had a ball writing the two books. I write in longhand – the whole book, start to finish, and then I type it up. I start off with one small idea that I build the whole story around. It is while I type that I make changes – all pretty minor; hair colour, dates; timelines; flight destinations…

        I started three others novels in December last year plus a teen novel and a YA, but they didn’t flow out of me the way the other two did;I sh all go back to them at some point.

        I can’t do the outline/fill in way of writing that you talk about in your blog.

        Bea

Please Leave a Reply

