Polished and ready to run

I’ve finished polishing it!!!   My first book, Golden Obsession, is ready to run.  Now, comes the laborious bit – finding an agent!  Of course, the manuscript still needs an editor/critque to run their eye over it. 

I can’t wait to start typing up my second book.  Yesterday, while the children swam, I wrote another chapter of my teen novel.  My problem is not discipline in getting myself to sit down and start writing.  Quite the opposite – I get so engrossed in the story that I can’t stop.  Last night I got to bed at 3am!  When I’m slap bang in the middle of a book I get completely tangled up in the characters lives.  With my second book I was in tears for a whole evening until I’d resolved the dilemna the heroine found herself in.

This morning I thought – maybe I ought to wait and see whether or not the first book has market potential before I go ahead and write more.  But, you know what, I enjoy the process so much that I’ll just carry on doing it anyway.  I know my friends and family like the books, so maybe it’ll be a private thing.

I read out excerpts to my daughter (edited, of course) and she loves them, hence the need for a teen novel.  Maybe I’ll persuade her to a do a mum/daughter collaboration.

About Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write, I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2017 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you liked it - or even why not!
This entry was posted in 1 and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Polished and ready to run

  1. Checkchick says:

    How exciting! I can’t wait to get my hands on this book, what is it about? Any inspirations from real life friends? haha.. Where can I read some chapters?

    • beaturvey says:

      You know 😉 – things I picked up here and there but it is a work of fiction! None of the characters are based on real people (that’s the standard reply!).

Please Leave a Reply

