Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Euphoria

4 Comments

When someone, who is a lover of the genre you’re writing in, tells you they loved your book, then it starts off the day in a blaze of glory.  I feel about 10 feet tall (for a 5′ person that’s huge!) and even more enthusiastic.  Today I received a proposal from an agent but I need to check them out and shall meet them at the London Book Fair.  I have many more submissions to send out (only about 5 have been emailed and I have 10 waiting to be posted if only I can get my ass into gear to write the covering letters – oh, for an automatic ass!).

But, for today, I shall take the children swimming to a lcoal water park and, while they turn into prunes, I shall continue editing.  Now my only conundrum is the music I shall play whilst editing….

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. Writing became a serious part of my life in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why you lied it - or even why not!

4 thoughts on “Euphoria

  1. Have you got a copy of the Writers’ and Artists’ Yearbook? I spent hours trawling through the lists of agents and publishers, marking any that I figured might be interested in signing me up (once I’ve written more than plans and character sheets of course!) and have whittled it down to about five that I’ll get in touch with in due course. Well worth checking it out.

    I’m writing the first of four interlinked stories – I suppose it would fall under the ‘women’s saga’ genre, although I’m a little reticent to pidgeon-hole it already, especially in that category. We will see where the story takes us!

    • Yes, I looked through the book. There are fantastic tips in there too. I pulled out 80! Of course about 20 of them are unusable, and I immediately sent off to the ones that have web/email submission options. I now have started to whittle down the others as it would cost me a fortune to submit to the others.
      Your idea of a series is great – agents love those as it has greater selling power. People tend to stick to what they know and if they like your story they want to read more of the same, which a series will automatically give them. I love series too, but tend to wait for the final to be published before I start on the first as I am extrmeley impatient and can’t wait to read the next one.

  2. Wow! That’s fantastic news. I’m just starting to write my first real novel and it is really encouraging to read about somebody who has been so successful in a relatively short space of time. I wish you the very best of luck.

Please Leave a Reply

