Scribbled thoughts of a mad woman

New Author blogs about writing

Recommendation: Nation

Leave a comment

Cover of "Nation"

Cover of Nation

I am not a Terry Pratchett fan.  I enjoyed Going Postal on tele but I just have never been able to get into his writing.  Just before Christmas I was encouraged by several students to try Nation: ‘It’s completely different, Miss'; ‘It’s about sort of real people and almost real places and historical and stuff'; ‘It’s not fantasy, Miss, honest'; ‘It’s kinda racial but radical’.  I was intrigued and took the book home over Christmas.  I finally got around to opening it the day before school started again and finished it within three nights.  

Nation is about a boy and a girl from different continents stranded on a desert island after a decimating tidal wave.  The Island is the boy’s home and the book intuitively and humorously wends its way through all the pitfalls of differing class, race and sex, or at least the way these two children perceive them and how their isolation breaks down these boundaries.  A wonderful book,  I have no hesitation in recommending it.  Although it was written for children, like the HP series, it will also appeal to adults.

Now, I am going to start another teen novel recommended by one of my colleagues called Hunger Games (that is the title of the book not my colleague).

Author: Bea Turvey apprentice author and witch

I am a wild-haired author who cannot stop writing. The writing process is not a task for me. It is an extension of myself. When I write I lose myself as easily as if I slipped into the story for a swim. I started writing seriously in Decmber of 2009. Unless you're reading this in 2014 it wasn't that long ago, and the bug hit me hard and fast. My first novel, Banished, was published in March 2010 and is available at http://www.amazon.co.uk/Banished-ebook/dp/B008PGM4TQ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1361913026&sr=8-1. If you read it, or anything else I've written, I hope you'll post a review and let me know why - or even why not!

Please Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 297 other followers